You’ll often hear individuals suggest taking advantage of the different offers from Stripe—whether it’s for discounts or free trials. The idea is that you could have one account for your business and one account for your personal use. But is this something that you can actually do? Can you have two separate Stripe accounts or do they have to be tied to one another?

To figure this out, let’s dive into how Stripe accounts work and how you can set one up.

How Do Stripe Accounts Work?

If you’ve ever used Stripe, you’re probably familiar with how it works. When you sign up for a Stripe account, you get a credit card linked to the account. This card can be used to make payments through the platform. Every time someone makes a payment to your business or personal account on Stripe, you’ll receive a small deposit. (This is called a “handling fee”, and it varies by country. For example, in the U.S. it’s 3 percent.)

While it’s possible to link a debit card to a Stripe account, the best strategy is to use a credit card. This is because you’ll often receive an additional bonus from credit card companies when you make a purchase using their card. On the other hand, you don’t gain much when you use a debit card on Stripe.

Can You Have Two Separate Stripe Accounts?

When setting up your business account on Stripe, you have the option to create another account that is specifically for your personal use. In this case, you can use a different email address, password, and credit card. This separate account can then be used to make purchases for your own personal use. (If you’re curious, you can go ahead and set one up now.)

While it’s convenient to use one account for multiple purposes, this is not something you have to do. Instead, you can simply use the personal account for your own personal use and then link your business account anytime you make a purchase on the platform. This way, you won’t lose any money when applying the “handling fee” on an ATM transaction or purchase made with a debit card.

How Do I Set Up Two Stripe Accounts?

To link your business account to your personal account on Stripe, you’ll need to log into your business account and navigate to the “Settings” menu located at the top right corner of the page. From here, you can choose to have a separate billing address (this is where you’ll enter the email address you’d like to use for the personal account). You can even choose to have a different name and social security number for the personal account. Finally, you can choose to make the personal account either a “Restricted Account” or a “Separately Verified Account.” (These are security measures put in place by Stripe to protect you as a consumer. In the event your personal account is compromised, Stripe will notify you.)

Once you’ve adjusted all these settings to your liking, you can click on the “Save Settings” button at the bottom of the page to commit these changes. Then, from the main menu on the left-hand side of the page, click on the “Products” tab to see all the products and services your business has available for sale. (You can also display the products and services filtered by category if you prefer.)

Finally, from the products list, click on the “Add a Product” button to display the product configuration page. Here, you can choose the type of product you’d like to sell, its price, and whether you want to allow customers to purchase it in bulk. (You can also set the price according to the number of units of the product.) Clicking on the “Add Product” button brings you back to the main menu on the left-hand side of the page.

Once you’ve added a product to your shopping cart, click on the “Checkout” button—this will take you to the order page. (If you’ve previously logged into your account, you can simply click on the “Checkout” button to enter your second Stripe account information without creating a new account. This is called “Logged In Multiple Checkout”.)

What Is The ‘Logged In Multiple Checkout’ Process On Stripe?

If you’re logged into both your business and personal accounts on Stripe, when you check out as a customer, you’ll be given the option to select which account you’d like to use for the transaction. As a business owner, you can choose whether or not you’d like to allow customers to make additional purchases on your behalf. (You can disable this feature whenever you want by going into your “Settings” menu on the left-hand side of the page and unticking the “Allow Multiple Checkouts” box.)

By default, if both your “Restricted Account” and “Separately Verified Account” are enabled, then customers can make multiple purchases on your behalf. If any of these security measures are disabled, then only one purchase can be made per customer. (You can still enable the “Logged In Multiple Checkout” feature which lets you check out as a customer even when this feature is not available—this is useful for instances when you’re “AFK” (as in “away from keyboard”) but want to process a customer’s order while you’re “online.”)

Do I Need a Business License To Operate A Stripe Account?

To legally operate a business in the United States, you’ll need to apply for a federal business license. In the case of Stripe, since you’re an unincorporated association (meaning you have no physical address), you don’t need to apply for a federal business license. However, you do need to register your business with the state of California if you’re operating a business within the state. (For more information on registering your business with the state of California, visit this link [

  • https://salsaservices.com/register-for-a-business-license-in-california/
  • https://www.eftb.com/business-licenses-in-california/

])

What If My Social Security Number Has Already Been Used For A Stripe Account?

If you’ve already used your social security number for a Stripe account, you’ll need to revoke access to that account before you can use it for another purpose. To do this, log into your account and go to the “Settings” menu located at the top right corner of the page. Here, you’ll find a tab labeled “Security.” On this page, you’ll see all your existing accounts and the date they were created. Simply click on the “X” button next to the account you’d like to disable.

Make sure to lock the account (by setting a lock icon next to it) before you revoke access. Doing this prevents other users from accessing the account while you’re working on deactivating it. Once you’re sure the account has been deactivated, click on the “Save Settings” button at the bottom of the page to confirm this change.